Start Here

Eating a diet for gastroparesis varies depending on your age and your ‘state’ of gastroparesis, which includes numerous stages – from feeding tubes to what I refer to as ‘nearly normal’. Also consider your own preferences and tolerances. I have a master’s degree in nutrition but I am following a gastroenterology diet I found online(www.gicare.com). adding foods I felt I had no reactions to one at a time.

I have had Type I diabetes for 48 years, gastroparesis for 14 of them. At the time I was diagnosed, I was nauseous all the time and got by just eating saltine crackers. I tried various medications but none worked for me. I ate a healthy high fiber diet that was ultimately my undoing. I started passing out stone cold on my cement floor. I have hypoglycemic unawareness. I felt nothing, came to at a paramedic party and continue to ask my insurance to cover a CGMS. At the moment I’m fighting for more test strips.

I found the no to low fiber diets (gicare.com) , low fat diet, etc. and immediately felt better. Later I found I could tolerate, actually digest other foods :>) I went slowly though. First I tried milk and yogurt, then lower fat cheese, peanut butter and forward. I’m on a pump and took a bolus more often, after checking my BG to see what foods made it through. Your mileage may vary (YMMV). Good luck.

Leave a Reply

