Gastroparesis Foods

When I discovered less fiber made for better assimilation of my daily foods, I started drinking more of my meals. Kelly Booth turned me on to the different stages of gastroparesis (which range from a lower fiber diet to tube feeding for the severely compromised). See Kelly’s website at http://www.Trials and Triblations.com for links.)

I seem to be at the beginning stages brought on more by brain surgery than by diabetes (although 50 years OK 47 – with that hasn’t helped. But no one ever gave me any info about diets or anything like that. One of the recommendations was to try almost an entirely liquid diet with a few saltines, thrown in for good measure. From there I started adding and subtracting foods and I’ still tweaking.

You can usually tell you might have it if your BG is much lower than expected 2 hours after a meal and then goes high a few hours later. Although excess fat and protein digest about 6 hours after eating also.

Your doc can have you tested for gastoparesis. I went to a hospital where they fed me some ‘radio active’ oatmeal, then tracked the time it took for my stomach to empty.

For me, the next course of action was drugs. Reglan, which I had allergic reactions to, then Propulsid, of which a side effect turned out to be dearh. It’s still on the market in other countries and I always suspected the US death rates were do to abuse, as in,’if some is good more is better’ variations. Your doc can still order it for selected patients.

My latest thrill is sugar-free, vanilla Spiro-Tein (check your health food stores or many places online). Google it. I use 8 oz. skim milk, 2 T Hershey’s sf chocolate syrup, a little Stevia, and 6 ice cubes. It’s like a malt!

2 responses

  1. I have discovered that doctors, particularly primary care physicians, never give dietary information. Mine when he diagnosed diabetes type 2 was very reluctant to refer me to an endocrinologist. He just prescribed medication, and thought that would do it for me. They need to be informed.

    • I agree, but they’re not nutritionists ( a woman’s occupation not to be taken too seriously) and hesitate to refer people to them They also do not mention that gastroenterologists might help. Nor do they use online resources. Most live in a medical vacuum.

Leave a Reply

